Meaning “Monastery of the Big Cave”, this 8-floor centre of worship was carved into the mountain and built at a height of 924 meters. It was originally built by two monks in the 4th century AD, and contains different icons such as Panagia Chrysospiliotissa as well as a special icon by the evangelist Luke. The latter is made of wax, mastic gum and perfume. Valuable manuscripts from the 17th century and captivating murals are also on display. The Monastery was actually destroyed five times since its inception, the most recent being by the Nazis in 1943. There’s a path from the monastery leading up to the cliffs where remains of a castle and some canons can be seen.
Moni Megalou Spileou, Kalavrita 250 01 Greece
+30 26920 22401