This picturesque church sits in a lofty spot between the mountains of Telethrio and Gymno. Built in 1834, the monastery was originally home to monks. This changed in 1970, when the church became a women’s monastery.
Aside from offering spectacular views out to the mountains and sea beyond, the original structure is believed to have been built in 1259 atop ruins of a temple dedicated to Apollo. Today visitors can walk the catacombs beneath, some of which have never been explored.
Moni Agiou Georgiou Ilion, Epar.Od. Loutron Edipsou - Rovion, Moni Agiou Georgiou 343 00 Greece
+30 22260 22384